Medical update again

Renal MRA

So… Here is the deal. Since Seth passed away I have been seeing a doctor. It started out as a preconception visit and has turned into this giant medical fiasco. First we did blood work and a kidney urine test and I was diagnosed with hypertension. My liver enzymes were too high and the kidney test wasnt handled right by the lab so I had to repeat it. The doctor said I should not have hypertension with my age and weight so he needed a duplex renal artery ultrasound. I had an appointment scheduled for Monday to go over my ultrasound (its already done), new set of bloodwork, and kidney screen BUT the doctors office called me yesterday and said- The radiologist and Doctor said you need to get a MRA of your renal arteries as soon as you can, tell registration they need to rule out fibromuscular hyperplasia.

WHAAAA???? WHAT DOES THAT MEAN???? So I had the MRA today. It is just like an MRI. They started an IV, flushed it with Saline (gross taste and smell), put this giant board on my stomach, slid me into this awfully close-quarters machine that made LOUD noises. and the nurse told me when to stop breathing for 12-20 seconds at a time. I kept my eyes closed the whole time except for once and when I opened them I started to freak out so… I closed them and tried very very hard to control my breathing. The lady told me when she was shooting the contrast into my IV, it was a metal called gadolinium. It had a little taste and gave me a slight headache for a few seconds but it was not bad at all. When it was all over, The lady helped me up and was all EXTRA nice to me, it kind of freaked me out…

Now its waiting time. The worst time EVER. UGH, I hate waiting. Im glad my doctor is totally on top of things but who would have thought that my kidneys would be messing up this early in the game. I see the Doctor Thursday and Im going to call medical records on Tuesday to make sure that the MRA was read so that Im not wasting a visit at the doctor. (this is getting EXPENSIVE). I guess He will go over with me my new lab draw of enzymes and kidney tests…

Wish me luck, it’s a little scary.

3 responses to “Medical update again

  1. I am so glad that your getting some closure on what is going on with your health.What ever the cause it will be manageable and your going to come out of it in one piece ( I know it)!
    It’s been a rough time on all fronts, but always know you are a strong woman.
    I will be thinking of you xxxx

  2. I hope time passes swiftly till the get the results, thinking of you too 🙂

  3. Feeling your anxiety and sending you strength and prayers!

Leave a Reply

